The Bridge

image

In the middle of the road
Atop a bridge built of tar
Amidst the noise of the traffic

Fifteen minutes since I’d gone

Off into the road

Far from where we were

But aching insides and

Bittersweet memories;

Of spirited laughter and dazed walks in pavements

Compelled me to grab

The little possessions I had.

And with my sandals wrapped around my hands, I ran

For life, for you, for us

Clashing against boxes and humans

Whatever got in the way

Out into the open, to where I knew

I’d find you not far away.

Barefoot I stepped down

In the middle of the road

Atop a bridge built of tar

Amidst the noise of the traffic

From the looming bus filled with the scent of unfinished goodbyes

Fifteen minutes since she’d gone

And I never said goodbye

The words could not come out

For they would make it seem real

This farewell I never fared for

And I pleaded to the stars

To the heavens and whatever lay beyond

To stop her from traversing

Into the road far away

As I watched her disappear

Out of view, hidden by curtains and strong steel

It sank, my heart out of grasp

“Goodbye, goodbye” I wailed

But she could not hear my aching soul

So I sped her way, hoping one last time

I could say farewell

And it may make me see

This goodbye is for real

As fast as it could run, I plummeted my two-wheeled machine

Ahead and around

Those big wheels that never could sight me

But alas! it stopped

And as I stood there baffled

A familiar face stepped down

From the looming bus filled with aching hearts

In the middle of the road

Atop a bridge built of tar

Amidst the noise of the traffic

Standing barefoot with everything she had

So I held her close with everything I had

Kissed her forehead as a tear escaped unsuspecting

The force of lovers colliding

And there

In the middle of the road

Atop a bridge built of tar

Amidst the noise of the traffic

We had our moment

A moment that would go down in history

As the day my love never left.

Image source – here

Say Something...

